Top 5 "White" singers who sound "Black"…and more

Number 1 = Tony Joe White
Number 2 = John Fogerty (Creedence Clearwater Revival)
Number 3 = Felix Cavaliere (Young Rascals)
Number 4 = Dr. John, The Night Tripper
Number 5 = Kim Wilson (The Fabulous Thunderbirds)
(These are the artists that made me fall offa my stool in a state of shock when I found out they were “White.”)

There are others. Here are a few name drops (note that they are all mostly from the south.)

Elvis (duh)
Gregg Allman (The Allman Brothers Band)
Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top)
Ronnie Van Zant (Lynyrd Skynyrd)
Bobbie Gentry
Dusty Springfield (the Atlantic albums only)
Paul Butterfield (Butterfield Blues Band)
Bobby Darin (early)
Stevie Ray Vaughan

Top 5 “Black” singers who sound “White”

1 = Dionne Warwick(e)
2 = Sam Cooke
3 = Charley Pride
4 = Ben E. King (The Drifters, in the 60′s)
5 = Clyde McPhatter (The Drifters, in the 50′s)
If I say Ray Charles…I’ll probably be executed, but he did sing “White” on some of his concept output for ABC-PARAMOUNT.
Johnny Mathis, Nat Cole (and Natalie for that matter) & Ella Fitzgerald are surely in the Top 10.
If I’ve omitted anyone important, use the comment box below…this is just something to have fun with. It is not meant to be racist. Gamble & Huff were once asked by a stupid radio interviewer if they saw any conflict in having a house band (MFSB) that was half black and half white? They answered this, “I don’t see black, I don’t see white…I SEE GREEN!
I’m just putting myself in Leonard Chess’ shoes I guess? He told it like it is. He would sign an artist to Chess Records he thought was black from the ‘demos’ he heard. Sometimes, upon the first meeting, the artist would show up and be white. You could hear Leonard’s stomach gurggle; now blowing an even bigger hole in his ulcer. That would be Bobby Charles of “Shake, Rattle & Roll” & “See Ya Later, Alligator” fame as I recall?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

